Clubs

National Honor Society

National Honor Society
Club: Inductees are selected by their proven academic success and must meet the 3.0 minimum GPA requirement. This club meets regularly and leads community service projects throughout the year. Past projects have included creating food baskets for needy community members, participating in Habitat for Humanity, sorting food at the food bank, and more.
Contact: Counselor Casey Burton (casey_burton@dpsk12.org)

Gender Sexuality Alliance
Club: Denver Online’s GSA is dedicated to fostering a sense of community among LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and, well, everyone else!) students.  This group provides a safe space for students to meet, support each other, and address different issues depending on the interests of those involved.
Contact: Social Worker Jaime Smith (jaime_smith@dpsk12.org)

Gaming Club
Club: The gaming club gets together to play board games and roll playing games. The club may also go on field trips together to places such as Comic Con.
Contact: Erica MacIntosh (Erica_macintosh@dpsk12.org)

Book Club
Club: This club reads and discusses books together. Students are lead in discussion about what they’ve read, their opinions on book topics, and their likes and dislikes about the material.
Contact: Teacher Jennifer White (jennifer_white2@dpsk12.org)

Robots and Paintbrushes
Club: Calling all techies and creatives!  If you are interested in art, technology, coding, design, STEAM, or just generally creating things, you should join Robots and Paintbrushes!  This is our school’s Technology Student Association (TSA) group.
Contact: Teacher Elisa Narizhnaya (elisa_narizhnaya@dpsk12.org)

Student Action Association
Club: This leadership team develops student connection by leading special activities, promoting club involvement, and overseeing the Student Mentorship Program.  These students also provide the student voice when we have special guests, conference presentations, and more.  Team members will also give updates on their projects to the Collaborative School Committee.
Contact: Principal Ian Jones (ian_jones@dpsk12.org)

Drama ClubPerformance Club
Club: If you’re interested in acting or anything drama related, this is the club for you!  The club will put on a play/musical and a talent show during the year.
Contact: Teacher Jennifer Carpenter (jennifer_carpenter@dpsk12.org)

Balarat Outdoor Education Program
Club: Balarat is Denver Public School’s outdoor education facility. It is in the mountains outside Boulder. High school students lead groups of 5th graders as they explore the outdoors. As a high school leader you will attend a two-day training at the Balarat facility to learn how to be a great leader for 5th graders. Then you will spend 6 days (either 2 three-day trips or 3 two-day trips) in the mountains with 2-3 other high school leaders and a class of 5th graders. You also earn 5 credits for being a leader!
Contact: Student Advisor Nadia Coleman (nadia_coleman@dpsk12.org)

Pregnant and Parenting Group
Club: This group is for students who are expecting or who already have children of their own.  Moms and Dads will be able to meet up, share advice about raising kiddos, and connect with resources to help make things a bit easier.
Contact: Social Worker Florence Tracy (florence_tracy@dpsk12.org)

Journalism and Newspaper Club
Club: Write real news stories and get published in a real newspaper that real people read.  This club also offers guest speakers in the journalism industry with years of experience and the chance for photographers and designers to hone their skills.  See the working online newspaper here.
Contact: English Teacher Jessica Glynn (Jessica_glynn@dpsk12.org)

Jigsaw Puzzle Club
Club
: Piecing together a jigsaw is a great way to combat stress, but it is also beneficial for your physical health too. By refocusing the mind away from negative and stressful thoughts, you decreases your cortisol and blood pressure levels, making both your body and mind healthy (Dr Newton, 2017).  Researchers at Yale University found that giving people the opportunity to work together on solving puzzles allowed them to improve relationships and their abilities to cooperate to finish a task.
Contact:  Science Teacher Susan Nelson (Susan_Nelson@dpsk12.org)