Clubs

nhsNational Honor Society
Club: Inductees are selected by their proven academic success and must meet the 3.0 minimum GPA requirement. This club meets regularly and leads community service projects throughout the year. Past projects have included creating food baskets for needy community members, participating in Habitat for Humanity, sorting food at the food bank, and more.
Contact: Counselor Casey Burton (casey_burton@dpsk12.org)

Gender Sexuality Alliance
Club: Denver Online’s GSA is dedicated to fostering a sense of community among LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and, well, everyone else!) students.  This group provides a safe space for students to meet, support each other, and address different issues depending on the interests of those involved.
Contact: Social Worker Jaime Smith (jaime_smith@dpsk12.org)

Gaming Club
Club: The gaming club gets together to play board games and roll playing games. The club may also go on field trips together to places such as Comic Con.
Contact: Teacher Erica MacIntosh (erica_macintosh@dpsk12.org)

Book Club
Club: This club reads and discusses books together. Students are lead in discussion about what they’ve read, their opinions on book topics, and their likes and dislikes about the material.
Contact: Teacher Jennifer White (jennifer_white2@dpsk12.org)

writing-clubWriting Club
Club: The writing club teams up with two different organizations throughout the year. The first is with Lighthouse Writers Workshop that brings in a published author weekly to lead classes that strengthen writer creativity, finesse, and confidence. Students work on writing and sharing short stories. The second group is Art from Ashes that leads students in poetry writing in the Art from Ashes workshop and the Drawing on Air workshop. Students write and share raw poetry weekly in front of their peers.
Contact: Teacher Jessica Glynn (jessica_glynn@dpsk12.org)

Art Clubart-club
Club: The art club primarily works at creating art projects to be displayed at the Denver Online High School Art Show at the Denver Art Society that occurs towards the end of the school year.  Artwork has also been displayed at local businesses and organizations, such as the Cherry Bean Coffee Shop.
Contact: Teacher Elisa Narizhnaya (elisa_narizhnaya@dpsk12.org)

Forensics Club
Club: The forensics club is great place for students to explore the art of “organized arguing” and formal presentation of various forms of “performance art.”  Students in forensics club tend to enjoy discussing current issues and, if they don’t already have a strong voice and good presentation skills, they will learn these abilities in a fun, safe club environment. It is also for students who enjoy performing short monologues or designing poetic interpretations.  Students learn to create factual/logical, ethical and emotional arguments and performances to persuade others in the club that their “side” is correct or leave them in awe of their talented interpretations of great art.  For more information on specific events that you can choose to participate in through this club click here for the event descriptions.
Contact: Vice Principal Jennifer Wiebesiek (jennifer_wiebesiek@dpsk12.org)

DO MORE Leadership Team
Club: This leadership team will learn how to develop a campaign surrounding serving a need in our community, learn how to promote the campaign using all forms of social media (e.g. facebook, twitter, Instagram, snapchat, youtube), learn how to use video equipment and editing software, potentially lead promotional/informative events along the way, and then lead out the final event for the campaign.  Team members will also give updates on their project to the Collaborative School Committee.
Contact: Principal Ian Jones (ian_jones@dpsk12.org)

Drama Club
Club: Drama Club explores basic theater techniques through improv work as well as putting our skills together into scene or act performances.  This club gives students an opportunity for rehearsal, stage mastery, and performance experience.  There is little to be gained from rehearsal without performance, therefore, we will try to provide as many opportunities as possible for students to perform.
Contact: Teacher Jennifer Carpenter (jennifer_carpenter@dpsk12.org)

Hiking Club
Club: This club will meet up to go on hikes and learn about hiking techniques and resources.
Contact: Teacher Ben Eisen (ben_eisen@dpsk12.org)

Choir Club
Club: This is a fun group that will team up with the drama club to promote fun singing performances!
Contact: Teacher Jennifer Carpenter (jennifer_carpenter@dpsk12.org)

Yearbook Club
Club: The main purpose of this club is producing a yearbook for our school.  However, we can’t make a yearbook without your help!  Photographers, writers, designers, and other talents are needed to help bring a yearbook to life.  If you are interested in these types of things, then please join! We need all the help we can get to make this possible.
Contact: Advisor Nadia Coleman (nadia_coleman@dpsk12.org)

Movie Club
Club: If you enjoy relaxing to a great movie, this is the club for you!
Contact: Assistant Principal Jennifer Wiebesiek (jennifer_wiebesiek@dpsk12.org)